Meet Stacey – BBR’s Vice President!

by

Hi!

I am Stacey Hantke, and I serve as the Vice President for Bonnie Blue Rescue. 

I thought it would be kind of interesting to add to our blog about my fostering experience and the foster puppies in my home, also give potential adopters a peek into the personality of the pups they may be considering adopting. This is my first attempt at “blogging” so this may be a little scattered. Hopefully I’ll get the hang of this as time goes on!

I adopted my first puppy a little over 4 years ago from a rescue called C.U.R.S. (Catahoula United Rescue Society), I remember the countless hours searching online for my perfect baby, looking at so many pictures on petfinder until that one day I found her or should I say – she found me!

My little catahoula mix/princess was in a foster home in Chicago with her 4 other littermates, her momma pulled from a high kill shelter actually 30 minutes from Richmond, VA. The entire family was literally rescued minutes before being euthanized. And she had 5 newborn puppies who were minutes from being put to sleep, too!

Meet our sweet princess, Olive.

Olive traveled all the way from Chicago Back to  Richmond,VA on a 2-day long transport. We drove to West Virginia to meet the transport and bring our tiny girl home. She was amazing and we were in complete love. Just a few months later we fostered our first puppy through C.U.R.S.

When we left C.U.R.S. we joined our friend Courtney and started a new rescue called Bonnie Blue Rescue.  We had been working together and volunteering together for years, but eventually decided to break away and try our hand at all all-breed rescue. Though we all still LOVE those Catahoula’s, we wanted to be able to rescue all sorts of different breeds of dogs. I am pleased to say that I am now part of an amazing group of people who work to rescue, transport and adopt animals and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I can’t tell you over the years how many foster’s I’ve had (though I’d guess well over 100+), but I can tell you I have loved them ALL and cried more times than I can count when letting them go on to their forever families.

It seems like every person who I tell about rescue always says the same thing “I could never let them go!” So I wanted to say this on record – it’s tough to bring dogs into your home, love on them, rehabilitate them, and get them ready for their forever families. It is even tougher to let them go! But in letting my foster babies leave, I am opening up room in my home to continue to save more. Bonnie Blue Rescue also has some amazing past adopters who really keep in touch and let us know how their adoptive pups are doing. It’s wonderful to get notes, emails and updates from my past fosters, and reminds me of exactly why we rescue.

If you haven’t before, you should definitely give some thought to fostering through Bonnie Blue. It’s a pretty sweet deal. We provide the crate, bedding, toys, chewies, all vetting and the puppy! You just provide lots of love and affection until it’s time for the pup to make his way to his forever family. If you’d like to learn more about fostering for Bonnie Blue Rescue, you can email us at bonniebluerescue@gmail.com. We are always looking for new foster homes because having more fosters means that we can save more dogs!

Check back tomorrow on our newest rescued pups, a litter of some adorable Catahoula mix babies.

One Response to “Meet Stacey – BBR’s Vice President!”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Can’t believe it’s your first time blogging…great job! Loved it! Also love you BBR gals and ALL that you sacrifice and do every single day & night saving the precious lives of these amazing pups! You are all phenomenal! With grateful hearts, Michelle & Sheba

Leave a Reply

