Cooper, Danika, Dublin, Darby & Angus

by

Hi it’s Stacey again!

I just wanted to check back in and let you know about my current foster pups and some of Bonnie Blue’s newest additions –

Cooper, Danika, Dublin, Darby & Angus!

Cooper (we call him Ledo) is one of my favorite new fosters.

I was looking on craigslist one night and wandered over to the pet section and found the most precious face on craigslist and knew I had to get him off of their before he landed in the wrong hands! So Ledo came to room with us and instantly Twix and Cadbury welcomed him into the pack with open paws! They all love each other so much sleep in the same crate every night and play like they were born to the same mom.

Ledo is a ham so much quieter than Twix and Cad and cracks me up all day long. He likes to play independently from the the other little pups and likes to try to get the “big” dogs to notice him. Ledo has already learned sit, lay down and is working on shake – all of this at 10 weeks!

As you can imagine, my pups + Ledo + Twix and Cadbury made for one very full house!

Now I had no plans to add any puppies to my house until these pups were adopted out – but as with rescue, my friends, comes these moments between temporary insanity and well what’s 4 MORE!!!  Craigslist struck again.

As this case arose on Sunday I was cruising cragslist (yes, yes I’m going to stop looking on there) and I saw

“Valentine’s Day Puppies For Sale”. These pups were far too young to be away from their mother and far too young to be legally adoptable, yet they were up “for sale” on Craiglist. We’ve heard the horror stories about the dogs who go on Craigslist and end up in breeders hands, with “bunchers” (who collect cheap animals for slaughter, research labs and even fighting rings), or with folks who would collect these little ones to breed (ugh). After several email and text message exchanges I am off at 8pm at night, driving over an hour each way, to rescue these little ones before they end up in the wrong hands.

I will spare the details of the conditions they were living in, but trust me when I say these puppies were lucky to still be alive. The people selling them didn’t even ask my name, where I lived, or even consider checking my references before handing these little ones over to be. They didn’t even question me when I said I wanted all four. I was told the pups were 7 weeks old, but truthfully they could have been no more than 4 weeks. Regardless, they are safe and well-loved on now. These little ones are loving life here in dog utopia. They get to play outside when the weather is nice and have warm fuzzy beds to sleep on, and of course big arms to hold them all. In honor of the upcoming St. Patty’s Day we went with a Irish-themed names for our newest houla mixes:

Meet Darby

Danika

Angus

and Dublin

They are keeping me busy with the endless pee pad changing and getting me up every couple of hours during the night to eat but I STILL wouldn’t have it any other way.

See you soon!

Stacey

5 Responses to “Cooper, Danika, Dublin, Darby & Angus”

  1. Jessica O'Kennon Says:

    I emailed the address on petfinder.com.. I would REALLY LOVE to meet these little furballs!! 🙂

  2. Eloy Says:

    When I saw Danika and read up on her breed, story and rescue group, I had to make waves to meet her and possibly have her as part of my pack. Bonnie Blue Rescue made me feel like they really do care about the well being of all their adoptions. It was a pretty detailed and in depth process which required a huge amount of legwork on my part, since I do not live in their area. However, I wanted them to feel equally as comfortable with me as I did with them.

    I’m proud to say they chose us to be Danika’s (now known as Amara) forever home. We have a boxer pup who adores her, many doggie playmates and plenty of family and friends to spoil her rotten.

    Save a sweet soul from Bonnie Blue Rescue. I for one am very happy that I did and would encourage any who are capable of providing a safe & happy home for a pup to do the same.

  3. Angus « Bonnie Blue Rescue Says:

    […] By bonniebluerescue Angus is one of the original “Craigslist pups” that Stacey & Renee rescued several weeks […]

  4. Eloy Says:

    Funny how I come back to this article every so often and reminisce on how small Amara (formerly Danika) was. She’s doing well and is growing pretty big. Wicked smart and a fantastic dog. So glad we adopted her into our home. She’s a wonderful member of our family. Hope you are all doing well! (^,~)

  5. Kelly Says:

    2 years ago today I saw Angus’s (yep, he’s still Angus!) precious little face on this website and fell in love. Now I can’t imagine life without him. He is still the snuggliest, happiest, smartest and most LOVED ON dog ever. Thank you for rescuing him and bringing him into our lives!

Leave a Reply

