making change.

by

Though it goes without saying, we are still reeling from the loss of our momma catahoula.

Her foster mom, Caroline, shared with me yesterday that she had hoped to name her Violet. I looked the name Violet up today to see what it means — it means re-birth. I cannot think of a more fitting name for a gorgeous, sweet girl who left this world too soon. One of the sweet messages that we received said that heaven must have needed a momma dog to take care of all of the puppies who left the Earth too soon, too. We have found that image incredibly comforting over the last 24 hours, thank you for helping warm our hearts.

We have received many, many kind messages over the past few days. And trust me when I say that the good has far outweighed the bad in this situation. Thank you to each of you who took the time to send a message, say a prayer, or send kind thoughts our way. This very difficult situation has been made better by the incredible outpouring of love that we have received. It has been a solid reminder of how amazing the rescue community can be. Thank you, thank you, thank you for that.

It is our goal to honor the life of sweet Violet in any way that we can and to continue to improve upon our transport process and procedures.

Today our rescue purchased several hundred martingale collars, harnesses, ID tags and slip leads. These will be sent to each of the sending shelters, independent rescuers, and transporters that we regularly work with. Though we work with the same sending shelters/rescue liaison’s almost exclusively and they are all excellent about making sure that the pups are properly outfitted for transport, this situation has demonstrated that you truly can never be too careful, too safe, or too prepared. If nothing else, I hope that the use of those martingale collars, harnesses and leashes will allow our transport drivers to properly outfit pups on other rescues/coordinators transports that they might be driving. If the purchase of these harnesses, martingale collars and extra leashes keep even one other pup from getting loose on transport, then we will have succeeded.

In addition, we are starting “Violet’s Fund”. A small portion of each adoption fee and general donation that we receive in 2012 will be set aside to rescue other momma pups in need, be it momma’s who were left behind or momma’s with litters of pups who are in danger of euthanasia. In this small, small way, we hope to continue to honor this sweet girl whose story touched so many.

Thank you again for your continued support.

8 Responses to “making change.”

  1. Anita Campbell Says:

    What an incredibly awesome way to honor this sweet, sweet girl. As always, Bonnie Blue doing incredible things to help dogs in need.

  2. Robb and Kymberli Says:

    I have worked with many a rescue and I have to say, Bonnie Blue is by far the most caring and organized out there. What happened with that wonderful angel,Violet, was a terrible tragedy. Let us all learn from it. We took our rescue children out yesterday, and I made sure they were all in their harnesses….I usually do not do this…but since hearing about the tragedy, I have changed my ways. Here is hoping that this will remind us that we can never be too careful. I agree that God needed another angel in Heaven …..in honor of Violet, I put another bell on my Christmas tree…another angel got her wings…..Peace to all….

  3. guinness Says:

    I use martingales on all my own dogs. It gives me a piece of mind knowing I dont have to keep a “tight” collar on my dog and theres no chance of slipping the collar. When Im at work (im a groomer) and a dog has to go out to go potty I double slip lead them. I havent had any incidents yet with these two methods. I used to have a Rotti that always backed out of her collar and someone introduced me to martingales..Ill never go back!

  4. Emily Cherry Says:

    What a great way to honor her – by protecting other dogs travelling to safety. Bless you.

  5. emjoe5 Says:

    What a wonderful way someone put it – heaven needing another Momma to take care of the little one’s who left the world too early. This puts a smile on my face and now I know Violet was put there for a reason. Praying for your rescue and let us all know where we can send donations!

  6. Pat Says:

    Great way to honor her:)

  7. Michelle Says:

    Moved to tears by BBR’s poignant tribute and creation of Violet’s Fund. Outstanding.

  8. Jessica Says:

    Thank you for all that you do for those less fortunate pups, mommas and babies too! I am so grateful for what you do as I am not able to foster but contribute where I can. I have always adopted from the shelters and loved so many. Please know that my heart goes out to you in your time of loss! Much love…

Leave a Reply

